AFCON qualifier: Hughton assembles 24-man squad against Madagascar

According to reports, Chris Hughton has selected 24 players for the 2023 Africa Nations Group E matchup against Madagascar next month.

Hughton has made a few notable selections for the crucial game, which is set to occur on Sunday, June 18, 2023, at Stade Kianja Barea in Antananarivo.

According to Tru News Report, Alidu Seidu and Kwasi Okyere Wreidt have returned to the team due to their outstanding performances at their club side.

Ernest Nuamah, a player for Nordsjaelland in the Danish Superliga who has scored 15 goals this season, has also received a first-time call-up to the senior national team as a result of his outstanding performances in Denmark.

The group has also welcomed back a few familiar names. Both Patrick Kpozo, a defender who presently plays in Moldova, and Nicholas Opoku, an Amiens native, have been brought back.

Majeed Ashimeru, an Anderlecht midfielder, will also play again for Ghana. The Black Stars come into the game atop their group with 8 points after winning twice and drawing twice in their previous four games.

In order for Ghana to guarantee their participation in the famous event that will take place in the Ivory Coast next year, the forthcoming match against Madagascar will be important.

See below for the full list;

Goalkeepers: Lawrence Ati-Zigi (St. Gallen), Joseph Wollacott (Charlton Athletic), Abdul Manaf Nurudeen (KAS Eupen)

Defenders: Denis Odoi (Club Brugge), Alidu Seidu (Clermont Foot), Gideon Mensah (Auxerre), Patrick Kpozo (Sheriff Tiraspol), Daniel Amartey (Leicester City), Joseph Aidoo (Celta Vigo), Alexander Djiku (Strasbourg), Nicholas Opoku (Amiens).

Midfielders: Thomas Partey (Arsenal FC), Mohammed Kudus (Ajax Amsterdam), Majeed Ashimeru (Anderlecht), Salis Abdul Samed (Lens), Edmund Addo (Spartak Subotica)

Wingers: Joseph Painstil (Genk), Osman Bukari (Red Star Belgrade), KamalDeen Sulemana (Southampton), Ernest Nuamah (FC Nordsjaelland) 

Attackers: Andre Ayew (Nottingham Forest), Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace), Inaki Williams (Athletic Bilbao), Kwasi Okyere Wriedt (Holstein Kiel).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here