From Daddy Lumba to KiDi: A look at all the VGMA Artiste of the Year winners from 1999 to 2022

- Advertisement -

The Vodafone Ghana Music Awards, established by CharterHouse in 1999 is held annually to celebrate Ghanaian artists whose music made the waves, crossed borders, and made people fall in love with their acts in the year under review.

It is the award scheme that brings together all the artists on one stage to give electrifying performances, the thrills, and fun all together.

Over the years, it has witnessed its share of controversies; from artists complaining of being robbed of a certain award category and a whole lot.

- Advertisement -

The controversies have somehow pushed the award scheme to the pinnacle in Ghana’s entertainment space as it is being regarded as the biggest entertainment show in a calendar year.

The award show has been organized 23 times with 22 musicians winning the Artiste of the Year category; the ultimate award which often generates tension among the nominees before its announcement.

- Advertisement -

The VGMA Artiste of the year plague has been won by some of the country’s finest musicians; including Daddy Lumba who won the first Artiste of the Year award in 2000.

Ghanaian Afrobeat artist, KiDi is the latest musician to win it and will hope to defend the title which has never happened in the history of the award show.

Rapper and two-time BET award winner, Sarkodie, and Ghanaian music group, V.I.P are the only artists who have won it on two separate occasions.

Stonebwoy and Shatta Wale could have added another one to the previous ones they had won but their scuffle in 2019 saw the Artist of the Year award scrapped for the first time in the event’s history.

Below is the list of all the winners from Daddy Lumba to the current holder of the award plaque, Dennis Dwamena also known as KiDi.

2000: Daddy Lumba

2001: Kojo Antwi

2002: Lord Kenya

2003: Kontihene

2004: V.I.P

2005: Bice Osei Kuffour

2006: Ofori Amponsah

2007: Samini

2008: Kwaw Kese

2009: Okyeame Kwame

2010: Sarkodie

2011: V.I.P

2012: Sarkodie

2013: R2Bees

2014: Shatta Wale

2015: Stonebwoy

2016: E.L

2017: Joe Mettle

2018: Ebony Reigns

2019: Unannounced due to Stonebwoy and Shatta Wale’s infamous fracas.

2020: Kuami Eugene

2021: Diana Hamilton

2022: KiDi

Source: GhBase

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Stories

He’s not a killer- Friends of Takeoff alledged murderer defend him

The supposed assassin of TakeOff has maintained his innocence, and now his pals are standing by him, saying that...