Ronaldo is a total genius for winning the penalty against Ghana – FIFA official

- Advertisement -

Sunday Oliseh, a FIFA technical study committee member, has dubbed Cristiano Ronaldo a genius for making contact and earning a disputed penalty in Portugal’s victory against Ghana on Thursday, November 25, 2022.

After initiating contact and collapsing in a confrontation with Ghana defender Mohammed Salisu, referee Ismail Elfath awarded Ronaldo a penalty.

Ronaldo was savvy in the scenario, according to a former Nigerian player, to earn the penalty.

“The Ronaldo penalty, people can say what they want about him, but the smartness to wait for that second, to touch the ball, continue his leg and then get the contact. That is a total genius,” Sunday Oliseh (member of FIFA technical study Group)

- Advertisement -

READ ALSO: Black Stars has the worst goalkeeper in the World Cup – Andy Kerm

The referee declined to utilize VAR to review the situation again, and Ronaldo converted the penalty kick to earn Portugal a 3-2 victory against Ghana at Stadium 974.

- Advertisement -

Meanwhile, veteran Premier League referee Mike Dean had a different reaction to the penalty than Oliseh.

Mike Dean would not blame the on-field referee, believing that the officials in the VAR room should have launched an investigation into the event.

- Advertisement -

 

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here