The defender pulled me – Daniel Amartey breaks silence on controversial penalty against South Africa

- Advertisement -

Ghana defender Daniel Armartey has broken his silence over the controversial penalty awarded to the Black Stars in their final World Cup qualifying match against South Africa. 

Amartey insisted that his opponent De Reuck indeed fouled him and there’s no doubt to the penalty Senegalese referee Maguette Ndiaye gave them.

According to former Ghanaian international Awudu Issaka who was speaking on Angel TV, Amartey told him the South African defender pulled him and only left him when he was falling to the ground.

Sports journalist Saddick Adams shared this new development on his Twitter account writing;

- Advertisement -

“After the game, I asked [Daniel] Amartey about the penalty. He told me he was pulled. He said the South African defender held his hand at the back and pulled him but left it when he was falling off. The camera didn’t capture that”- Former Ghana player Awudu Issaka on Angel TV.

- Advertisement -

Here’s a recap of the moment the penalty was awarded;


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here