“We apologize for our inability to meet you for the petition” – Jean Mensa writes to NDC MPs

"We apologize for our inability to meet you for the petition" – Jean Mensa writes to NDC MPs

The Electoral Commission(EC) has rendered an apology to the NDC MPs who were prevented by the police from submitting their petition over the disputed Techiman South parliamentary election results.

These words of apology were conveyed in a letter signed by Madam Jean Mensa, Chairperson of the EC and delivered to Haruna Iddrisu, Minority Leader and leader of the NDC MPs who marched to the EC office on Tuesday.

The letter was shared by Haruna Iddrisu on his social media handle and excerpt of it reads:

“On behalf of the Electoral Commission, I write to acknowledge receipt of your letter and petition dated the 21st of December, 2020,” the letter reads.

“We apologize for our inability to meet with you and your delegation. This stemmed from the late receipt of your letter.

“We assure you that our doors remain open should you wish to present the petition in person to the Commission Meanwhile the Commission will study the contents of the petition and respond within the shortest possible time.

“As a Commission, we remain committed to resolving issues arising from the just-ended election which are within our mandate”.

On Tuesday, December 22 2020, there was a standoff between the police and the Minority Caucus of parliament where they were prevented from submitting a 21-point petition to the EC because neither the Chairperson nor any official was around to receive it.

The Minority Leader later in an address threatened that the NDC Minority caucus would boycott any appearance by the EC in Parliament because they did not grant them an audience.

Leave a Reply