Al Ahly becomes the first African team to win the CAF Champions League 10 times

Al Ahly becomes the first African team to win the CAF Champions League 10 times

- Advertisement -

The Egyptian football powerhouse showed their class and quality in the second half with the Soweto giants playing with 10 players

Al Ahly successfully defended their Caf Champions League crown after securing a 3-0 victory over Kaizer Chiefs in the final which took place at Stade Mohamed V in Morocco on Saturday night.

Goals from Mohamed Sherif, Mohamed Magdi Afsha and Amr El Solia inspired the Egyptian giants to a well-deserved win over their South African opponents, who were making their maiden appearance in the final.

Coach Stuart Baxter took charge of Chiefs for the first time after receiving his South African work permit and the experienced British coach opted for Daniel Akpeyi between the sticks. 

The win saw the Red Devils clinch a record-extending 10th Caf Champions League title and they qualify for this year’s Fifa Club World Cup.

They won the trophy in 1982, 1987, 2001, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2012, 2013, 2020 and 2021.

They were Runners-up in 1983, 2007, 2017 and 2018.

This is their 14th final.

- Advertisement -
Journalist Albert
Online Journalist with || Blogger || Google Certified Digital Marketer ||

Leave a Reply

Latest News

18-yr-old boy kills a 28-yr-old prostitute for demanding ₵145.00 after sleeping with her

An 18-year-old boy, Jamiu Malomo has been arrested for allegedly murdering a 28-year-old lady ashawo Azeezat Akande in cold...

Top Stories

More Articles Like This